My Christmas Mashup

Now that we’re done stuffing ourselves with, uh…”thanks”…we can now move on to the season of sleigh bells, Furbys, and Tickle-Me-Elmos. Yes, it’s Christmas-time, or maybe just “holiday-time” if you’re worried about being PC. At any rate, I feel like it’s time to share my second “original” work with the world.

[As an aside, my first original work was a trance track called “Rainstorm” released under the artist name “eXperimental breakdown”. It was housed at the old Mp3.com, which means it was “lost” when the site got bought out by CNET. At the time of the buyout, I was no longer using the old email address I had registered under, so I didn’t receive an email about what to do if I wanted to keep my old information online. Either way, I wasn’t keeping track of the song anymore, so it ultimately didn’t mean a whole lot to “lose” the website. I obviously still have copies of the song, and the original Cakewalk Express (!) arrangement file. Although I liked the track, the final production was not as good as it could have been. If I find the time, I may revive the track with a few changes and some better production value.]

This second “original” work is actually a mashup. The primary basis of the track is an old recording of “Frosty the Snowman,” artist unknown. The voice is familiar enough, but the file I had of the track did not have the artist with it. It was just a “found” track. If you can identify the artist, please submit a comment and let me know who it is. The rest, I’ll leave to you to discover. Needless to say, the title of the track, “Frosty Don’t Play That,” ought to give you a clue about the era of the rest of the music. (The one track that doesn’t entirely fit is “I Wish” by Skee Lo. However, the sample from “I Wish” serves as the main drum track, so it’s kind of important to the song.)

I put this track together 4 years ago when I was home for the holidays. I don’t even remember why the heck I decided to do it, but I just sat down with the laptop one day and decided a Frosty mashup sounded like a good idea. It only took me a couple of evenings to put it together, so it’s not the most perfect mashup production you’ll ever hear, but it was fun to make and it still brings a smile to my face. Feel free to spread it about if it does the same for you.

Enjoy…and happy holidays!

DJ eXb
“Frosty Don’t Play That [Mashup]”
December 2003
Length = 4:15

DOWNLOAD HERE (right click, save as…)

add to del.icio.us del.icio.us | Technorati | Stumble It! StumbleUpon

~ by DJ eXb on December 10, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
