LIVE GIG Details

Okay, well, I’m giving out this information a bit late for those not in the know, so I apologize for that. However, I’m going to have my first live, public performance on the night of Wednesday, September 12 at Light Bar in Austin, TX. A couple of questions you might want to ask me if I were right next to you at this very moment:

Q: Why the hell are you spinning in Austin when you live in Dallas?
A: Sometimes, you have to take the opportunities that are given to you no matter what the circumstances. As a matter of fact, I’d have to say that’s almost always true, especially when it concerns doing something you’ve always wanted to do.

Q: Why the hell are you spinning in Austin on a WEDNESDAY NIGHT when you live in Dallas???
A: Refer to previous answer.

I have to thank my great friend Kacey who resides in Austin (go figure) for talking me up to her friends, Jack and Asher, who are the Wednesday night residents at Light Bar and who have graciously accepted me as a guest DJ on Sept. 12. You can check out their website at DinoLeg.com. If you do, you’ll notice that they will be opening for Bad Boy Bill on September 21st, which, if you ask me, is pretty damn cool.

One important note about this gig: Light Bar is a pretty trendy little place, but the “bar” itself, per se, isn’t the place to be. The rockin’ sound is on the rooftop where the DJ booth is. However, unlike some places with a rooftop terrace, there is no protective covering over the DJ booth/upstairs bar. In other words, this gig is WEATHER DEPENDENT. If you’re one of my friends (or someone I don’t know yet) who would like to come see the gig, PLEASE, for the love of everything you hold sacred, check the weather before you head to the bar. Even I’m going to be checking the weather religiously in the days leading up to the 12th hoping for the best. Why do I say that? Funny you should ask…

I actually stopped by Light Bar this past Wednesday, August 29th, to check out the bar and see what styles of music were being played. As it turns out, it had been a bit rainy that day, and even though it wasn’t raining anymore come 10:00pm, the bar owners had already made up their minds that there would be NO DJ’s that night on the roof. And since there were two bands already booked for the inside stage, well, needless to say, trance was NOT given a chance that night. So yeah, I made a trip almost for nothing…if not for the fact that Kacey and I went to meet Jack at another bar, ended up at his apartment, spun some tunes, and made his (new) downstairs neighbor come upstairs at 2:00am to tell us to turn off the damn music already. Fun times. And kudos to Jack (and his Dino Leg cohort, Andrew) for being welcoming like that. They certainly didn’t have to be.

So anyway, long story short (too late), Wednesday night, September 12, 10:00pm, Light Bar, Austin, TX, my first gig. I hope you can be there.

~ by DJ eXb on September 1, 2007.

One Response to “LIVE GIG Details”

  1. Woooo! I’m in, and will be very tired at work the next day…

Leave a Reply

 
